Login [Center] Logout Join Us Guidelines  I  中文  I  CQI

Prof. Yao Had a Discussion with Young Faculty Members from Department of Compute

May 08,2009

On the morning of May 8, 2009, at the invitation of Department of Computer Science and Technology (CST) of Tsinghua UniversityProf. Andrew Yao, Director of Institute for Theoretical Computer Science (ITCS) and 2000 Turing Award laureate, had an academic discussion with six young teachers from CST – Min Zhang, Jia Jia, Yongwei Wu, Daoshun Wang, Jiangtao Wen, and Minlie Huang. Present at the meeting were also CST Party Committee Secretary Shiqiang Yang, CST Dean Maosong Sun, and Prof. Yuexuan Wang and Prof. Xiaoming Sun of ITCS.


Prof. Yao said that he would mobilize all resources available to support CST to establish an elite research team, enhance CST's research capacity and international influence, and in this way, the overall standard of the research in computer science in China may be raised to a new level. Secretary Shiqiang Yang, on behalf of CST, thanked Prof. Yao for sharing his insight with the young teachers who had been looking forward to his guidance for their research.

The six young teachers talked about their research interests, development, findings, and the difficulties they encountered in their research work.

After that, Prof. Yao said he was glad to know the young teachers at CST had so much experience and so many achievements in research, and he would like to have one-on-one discussions and regular discussions with them in the future. Prof. Yao expressed that he had high expectations for the whole team of CST, and he would give full support to its development. The young teachers were greatly encouraged and inspired in this meeting.