Login [Center] Logout Join Us Guidelines  I  中文  I  CQI

WU Jiajun Wins 2013 Tsinghua Top Talent Scholarship for Undergraduates

November 08,2013

(By Yuying Chang, Shuai Sun) WU Jiajun, undergraduate from Yao Class, has been awarded 2013 Tsinghua Top Talent Scholarship for Undergraduates, the most prestigious prize for outstanding Tsinghua students.

The interview of the Scholarship took place at Lecture Hall in Main Building, Tsinghua University, October 31st, 2013. After competitive selection, 15 shortlisted candidates attended the interview and Wu Jiajun was picked as one of the ten winners of the Scholarship, ranking the first.   


When Professor Andrew Chi-Chih Yao, Dean of IIIS and winner of the A.M. Turing Award, appeared on the stage as the recommender of Jiajun Wu, the audience broke into enthusiastic applause. “How about voting for me as a candidate”, Professor Yao greeted the audience with his good-natured humor. Though China received criticism for its shortcomings in the education mode, as Professor Yao mentioned in his introduction, the excellent Chinese young people were just as good as people from other countries in international competition, which encouraged all of us to be confident. Professor Yao commended that Jiajun had made PhD-level achievements in academic research during his undergraduate study.


Jiajun Wu also shared his experience with the audience. In his supporting statement for the contest, Jiajun said “Good performance in schoolwork laid a solid foundation for my academic research, and earnestness has been always the most important quality for me to conduct the research.” The audience presented and Jiajun Wu had a pleasant communication concerning academic study and campus life.


After 3-hour presentations and vote from 16 judges, the other nine winners of 2013 Tsinghua Top Talent Scholarship for undergraduates are Zhe Ji, Huakai Zhao, Yuanchen Yang, Cheng Huang, Dongsheng Ren, Guowei Zhang, Hongfeng Sun, Qili Sun and Shang Zhai. 


Tsinghua Top Talent Scholarship, established in 1989, is awarded to the students who have outstanding all-round performances and those who achieve significant advances in their respective fields.