Login [Center] Logout Join Us Guidelines  I  中文  I  CQI

China Theory Week 2015 Opens

August 18,2015

(By Yuying Chang) On the morning of August 17, China Theory Week 2015 was opened in Shanghai Jiaotong University, with a welcome speech by Prof. Andrew Chi-Chih Yao, Turing Awarder, Dean of IIIS, Tsinghua University. Nearly 100 young scientists from Princeton, Oxford, Tsinghua, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, etc. participated in this event.


This is the ninth year that China Theory Week has been held. In his opening remarks, Prof. Yao mentioned that the concept underpinning this workshop was to bring the top graduates from all over the world together and provide a platform of academic exchange for them. Particularly, it also proudly witnessed the process of growth and transformation into a researcher by previous student participants. Pinyan Lu is one of them. He attended the workshop in 2007 and 2008 as a PhD student at Tsinghua, but is invited to come back as a keynote speaker this year. Now, he is researcher at MSRA and chair professor at Shanghai Jiao Tong University.

The week-long workshop schedule includes four keynote talks by MSRA Researcher Pinyan Lu, CMU Associate Professor Maria Balcan, MIT Assistant Professor Dana Moshkovitz and Stanford Assistant Professor Virginia Vassilevska Williams, and twenty-six talks by graduate students from renowned universities home and abroad to demonstrate their latest research.

China Theory Week was initiated by Prof. Andrew Yao in 2007, and aims to promote the academic exchange in the field of computer science around the globe. Prof. Xiaotie Deng, co-chair of CTW PC said: “China Theory Week has been developing into an internationally well-known workshop in the area of theoretical computer science, and enjoyed a high reputation among the graduates. Holding such a workshop in China offers our students an insight into the cut-edge research and helps them create a greater engagement with theoretical computer science.”


This year’s workshop is co-organized by the Institute for Interdisciplinary Information Sciences, Tsinghua University and Shanghai Jiao Tong University. PC members of this year are Prof. Xiaotie Deng from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Prof. Peter Miltersen from Aarhus University and Assistant Prof. Jian Li from Tsinghua University.