Login [Center] Logout Join Us Guidelines  I  中文  I  CQI

Sub-wavelength atom localization and microscopy

Speaker: Prof. Suhail Zubairy Texas A&M University
Time: 2016-06-01 10:00-2016-06-01 12:00
Venue: MMW-S527


In optical microsopy, diffraction limits the precision with which we can localize an object. This limit applies also to optical microscopy. A great deal of effort has been devoted recently in overcoming these limits. In this talk, I shall present spectral techniques for atom localization and microscopy to precision much smaller than a wavelength. I shall also discuss another high-resolution method, the structured illumination microscopy (SIM) that has been of special interest in high precision imaging in recent years. Linear SIM was realized nearly 20 years ago but with resolution limitation. In this talk I shall discuss how high precision imaging can be achieved in linear SIM using graphene plasmons.

Short Bio:

M. Suhail Zubairy is a University Distinguished Professor of Physics and the holder of the Munnerlyn-Heep Chair in Quantum Optics at the Texas A&M University. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Rochester in 1978. He served as Professor of Electronics and the founding Chairman of the Department of Electronics at the Quaid-i-Azam University before joining Texas A&M University in 2000. Prof. Zubairy’s research interests include quantum optics and laser physics. He has published over 300 research papers on topics such as precision microscopy and lithography, quantum computing, noise-free amplification, and atomic coherence effects. He is the co-author of two books, one on Quantum Optics and the other on Quantum Computing Devices. He has received many honors including the Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics, Alexander von Humboldt Research Prize, the Outstanding Physicist Award from the Organization of Islamic Countries, the Abdus Salam Prize in Physics, the International Khwarizmi Award from the President of Iran, the Orders of Hilal-e-Imtiaz and Sitara-e-Imtiaz from the President of Pakistan, and the George H. W. Bush Award for Excellence in International Research. He is an elected member of the Pakistan Academy of Sciences and a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the Optical Society.