Experience Academic “Pearl of the Orient”

——Yao Class 70 Attending ITCSC Winter School 2010

January 31,2010 Views: 0

From January 24 to 30, 30 students of Tsinghua Microsoft Special Pilot CS Class 70 joined ITCSC Winter School 2010 in the Chinese University of Hong Kong, led by two ITCS teachers. It is the fourth time for the junior students to go to Hong Kong for academic exchanges since the foundation of ITCS. In Hong Kong, “Pearl of the Orient”, its academic feature expanded the horizon of the students, while its scenery deeply impressed them.

This “Winter School 2010” was hosted by the Chinese University of Hong Kong, and invited 80 computer science undergraduates from prestigious universities like Tsinghua University, Peking University, Fudan University, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Zhejiang University, University of Science and Technology of China, National Tsing Hua University, and universities in India, providing them with a platform to communicate and exchange research ideas. Therefore, this was a very rare opportunity, not only for broadening students’ views and cultivating first-class computer science talents, but also for promoting the development of theoretical computer science in our university.

P1030645

Prof. Andrew Chi-Chih Yao made the opening remarks of the winter school.

“All junior students have the chance to visit Hong Kong for academic communication and exchange” is one of the most innovative elements of the training mode of ITCS Special Pilot CS Class. Up until now, the institute has sent about 120 students in four groups to go to Hong Kong for academic exchange activities such as Winter School, and students have benefited a lot from these visits. The academic exchanges in Hong Kong have covered a very broad range of topics including network, communications, algorithm complexity, linear algebra, game theory, etc.

This winter school invited several leading professors in the field of computer science from world-class universities in Hong Kong such as the Chinese University of Hong Kong, the University of Hong Kong, the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, etc. In the morning, lectures were given concerning the most cutting-edge areas of theoretical computer science, while in the afternoon, students would split up into several smaller groups, discussing the current hot topics in the field. This approach of learning will not only ensure the students ample time to digest the lectures, but also promote the communication and cooperation between students from various districts effectively. In the oral defense session on the last day, a group from Yao Class was the winner.

P1000266

Awarding Ceremony. A group from the Yao Class won the first prize.

On the last day of the winter school, the Chinese University of Hong Kong arranged a tour around Hong Kong for all the participants. Most of the Yao Class students regarded it as a rewarding trip, for they not only expanded their academic horizons, but also was impressed by the beauty and prosperity of Hong Kong.

group_photo

Group Photo of the Winter School

领略学术“东方之珠”的精彩

——姚班计70香港中文大学2010冬令营之行

2010年01月31日 浏览次数: 0

2010124日至30日,姚班计7030名学生在中心两位老师的带领下,前往香港中文大学参加了“Winter School 2010”冬令营活动。这也是ITCS成立以来第四批赴港进行学术交流的大三本科生。东方之珠的学术特色开拓了姚班学生的学术眼界,而其景观魅力更是让同学们深受感染。

本次“Winter School 2010”由香港中文大学主办,邀请了包括清华大学、北京大学、复旦大学、上海交通大学、浙江大学、中国科技大学、台湾新竹清华大学、印度高校等国内外一流高校的近80名计算机学科本科生,就理论计算机领域的各个研究方向进行近距离、最直接的交流和切磋。参加此次活动对于发展我校理论计算机学科,拓宽本科生的学术视野,培养一流计算机人才来说,是一个非常难得的机会。

http://itcs.tsinghua.edu.cn/chn/news/2010/2010020/2010020_clip_image002.jpg

姚先生致冬令营开幕词

“派出每届大三学生赴香港各大学进行学术交流”是ITCS计算机科学实验班培养模式中最具特色的创新点之一。迄今为止,中心已经派出四批近120名学生赴港参加“Winter School”等学术交流活动,取得了非常好的效果。赴港学术交流内容涉及领域极其广泛,覆盖了网络、通信、算法复杂性、线性代数、博弈理论等方面。

本次冬令营邀请了香港中文大学、香港大学、香港科技大学等香港一流高校的多位计算机领域的知名教授,为同学们面授目前理论计算机科学研究领域最前沿的知识。冬令营每天安排上午半天的讲座和下午半天的讨论课,并让学生自由组合团队,针对热点问题进行研讨。这样的学习方式不仅给了学生充分的时间来消化讲座知识,更是有效增进了各地区高校学生之间的交流和合作。在最后一天下午的解决问题答辩环节中,姚班的一个小组拔得头筹。

http://itcs.tsinghua.edu.cn/chn/news/2010/2010020/2010020_clip_image004.jpg

颁奖现场,姚班的一个小组获得第一名

离开香港的前一天,香港中文大学还热情地组织了香港一日游,带领冬令营学生饱览香港各个标志性景点。姚班学生们纷纷表示不虚此行,拓宽学术视野之余,更是为香港的美丽和繁荣所折服。

http://itcs.tsinghua.edu.cn/chn/news/2010/2010020/2010020_clip_image006.jpg

冬令营之行合影