Advanced theoretical computer science(1)

This course is set for junior graduate students who are interested in theoretical computer science and relevant disciplines. Those registered for this course are expected to have sound foundation of mathematics and knowledge in fundamental theoretical computer science. (Basis of Mathematics refers to College Mathematics, Basic Algebraic Theories, and etc. while fundamental theoretical computer science knowledge includes basis of algorithm design and complexity theory, and etc.)

Lectures for this course, all in English, aim to introduce current research directions, latest development and hot topics in computer science, and carry out in-depth discussions on issues of common interest. This course will help students to determine their future research interests and goals through featured discussions.

The teaching contents include various directions of classical theoretical computer science, such as design of algorithm, computational complexity theory, cryptography, game theory, coding theory, and quantum computing, etc.; as well as some major problems, hot topics and frontiers in the field of computer science, such as computational biology, compressive sensing network, network coding theory, and computer vision.

The course is mainly conducted through lectures and series seminars, supplemented by featured discussions. The students are required to take thesis reading exercises and give summary reports, with a view to helping them find their future research interests.

高等理论计算机科学(上)

       课程号80470014,每周4课时,学分为4学分。

        该课程主要面向对理论计算机及相关学科有浓厚兴趣的低年级研究生开课。要求选课同学有良好的数学基础、以及基本的理论计算机基础(数学基础包括:大学数学、基本近世代数理论等,理论计算机基础包括:基本的算法设计、基本的复杂性理论等)。
    
        本课程为全英文授课,旨为研究生介绍理论计算机的各个领域的当前研究方向、进展及热点前沿课题,并就大家感兴趣的问题进行深入的探讨;通过专题探讨,帮助学生确立今后研究的方向,明确研究的目标。 

        课程内容主要包括经典理论计算机科学的各个分支,如算法设计、计算复杂性理论、密码学、博弈论、编码理论、量子计算等;也包括部分计算机科学领域的重大问题、热门课题及前沿方向,如计算生物学、压缩传感网络、网络编码理论、计算机视觉等。

        教学方式以课堂授课、系列讲座为主,辅以专题讨论,由学生进行论文阅读训练和综述汇报,以期帮助选课学生明确今后的研究方向。