Yao Class 2010 Attend ITCSC-INC 2013 Winter School

January 18,2013 Views: 0

 On January 13th 2013, 34 students from Yao Class 2010, Tsinghua University, arrived in Hong Kong and began their four-day academic visits at the ITCSC-INC 2013 Winter School. The Winter School has attracted dozens of outstanding students from prestigious universities around the world.

The opening ceremony of ITCSC-INC 2013 Winter School was held on the morning of January 14th at the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK). Prof. Raymond W. Yeung, Director of the Institute of Network Coding, CUHK and Adjunct Professor of the Institute for Interdisciplinary Information Sciences (IIIS), Tsinghua University, attended the ceremony and made an opening address. Having extended his welcome to all the students and briefly introduced the Winter School, Prof. Yeung devoted a significant part of his speech to the theme of the Winter SchoolComputing with Noisy Data, in which students were expected to develop friendship through cultural exchange.

     

 

During the following three days, students attended 3 academic lectures and 1 Professor Forum in the frontier research fields such as spectral graph theory, information theory and channel coding theorem, data encryption through noise, etc. The unique way of thinking of and the splendid lectures giving by the speakers inspired the students with new perspectives and innovative vision, while their various academic experiences aroused students’ great aspiration to pursue the highest academic achievements.  

  

 

Besides, the organizers arranged a one-day tour in Hong Kong for all the participants on the last day of the Winter School. With the service of a shuttle bus, students visited all the famous scenic spots in Hong Kong, such as the Golden Bauhinia Square, Repulse Bay, Victoria Harbor and so on. Hong Kong is a dazzling pearl, attracting the worlds attention, especially when the night fell, Hong Kong shines itself like countless stars fallen from the sky, covering a rich and brilliant land.

It is the seventh time for junior students in IIIS to attend the Winter School in Hong Kong. Students in Yao Class 2010 all considered this journey as a memorable experience, from which they gained not only knowledge and friendship, but also the courage and determination to face the world and future. Ever since the foundation of Yao Class, junior students participating in Hong Kong Winter School for academic exchange has already become an important part in its training mode . Up until now, more than 200 students have attended the Winter School.

 (By Shuai Sun, Yanping Wang)

紫荆花开 群星璀璨——记姚班计科00香港冬令营

2013年01月18日 浏览次数: 0

通讯员 孙迪2013113日,姚班计科00班的34名同学们集体抵达香港,开始为期4天的“ITCSC-INC 2013 Winter School”冬令营交流访问。此次冬令营活动吸引了数十名来自世界各地名校的优秀学生,可谓群星荟萃。

14日上午,“ITCSC-INC 2013 Winter School”开营仪式在香港中文大学召开。港中大网络编码研究所主任、交叉信息院兼职教授杨伟豪教授出席开幕式并致辞。杨教授对参加冬令营的同学们表示欢迎,简单介绍了Winter School的历史和基本情况,并重点阐述了Winter School 2013的主题“computing with noisy data”,期待同学们通过彼此的文化交流建立友谊。

     

接下来的3天,冬令营营员们参加了光谱图论信息理论和信道编码定理通过噪声进行数据加密等前沿领域的3场学术报告和1场教授座谈会。老师们独特的思维以及精彩的演讲,启发同学们全新的视角,激发他们创新的灵感;专家们迥异的学术经历和感受,触动同学们勇攀学术高峰的雄心壮志。静思中,谈笑间,智慧之花在这里雍容绽放。

  

营期最后一天,举办方安排了香港一日游活动。美丽的香港,美丽的传说。随着大巴车的一路奔驰,同学们游遍了香港的著名景点。从青马大桥到紫荆广场,从太平山顶到浅水湾,从维多利亚港到星光大道,香港这颗耀眼的明珠,吸引着世界的目光。夜幕降临时,夜空下的香港有如无数繁星陨落,覆盖在一片富丽的土地上,灿烂辉煌。

作为第七批赴港参加冬令营学术交流的大三本科生,谈论起此次香港之行,计科00同学们普遍表示这是一次难忘的交流,不仅收获了知识、友谊,更重要的是收获了一种面向世界、面向未来的勇气和决心。这决心似紫荆花般灿烂,如星光般璀璨。自姚班开班以来,全体大三学生赴港参加冬令营交流活动已成为其培养模式中的重要环节,至今已派出200余人。