Professor Yao leads IIIS student group to participate in 2013 Forum on Computer

April 15,2013 Views: 0

 On April 13th, led by Academician Andrew Chi-Chih Yao, Chair Professor of Tsinghua Xuetang Special Pilot CS Class (Yao Class), four students from Yao Class, Zhihao Jia, Chongxuan Li, Da Tang and Linghang Kong, attended the 2013 Test Plan to Cultivate Top Students in Basic Discipline --- Forum on Computer Science, which was hosted by Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU). Jia Xu, Director of Yao Class, and teachers from Tsinghua Academic Affairs Office, also took part in the forum.

Prof. Yao is introducing the talents cultivation model of Yao Class.

Prof. Yao presented a detailed introduction to the talents cultivation of Yao Class, including training objectives, modes of cultivation, students recruiting, core courses, international faculty team, cultivating achievements, etc., demonstrating the measures, outcomes and its influence from the aspect of cultivating top innovative talents ever since the foundation of Yao Class. Meanwhile, Prof. Yao gave a high recognition of Test Plan to Cultivate Top Students in Basic Discipline, and would await its influence and the change it will make to the computer science field in China. Prof. Yao also gave a 30-minute lecture on An Expedition into Modern Cryptography in English in the University Model Courses Session, during which all the teachers and students presented were impressed by the teaching mode and academic atmosphere of Yao Class.

Da Tang (from Yao Class 2011) speaks at the forum.

During the forum, teachers and students from colleges and universities all through China gathered together, exchanging thoughts and ideas with each other. Four students from Yao Class including Zhihao Jia, Chongxuan Lee, Da Tang and Linghang Kong delivered speeches respectively in the aspects of Joint Center Program with MIT, core courses, individual attention from teachers, program adjustment system and academic atmosphere, sharing their learning experience and achievements in Yao Class from the perspective of students.

Nearly one hundred teachers and students from domestic universities attended the forum, such as Tsinghua University, Peking University, Nanjing University, Zhejiang University, University of Science and Technology of China and so on. All reported on their implementation of Test Plan to Cultivate Top Students in Basic Discipline and Microsoft Research Asia expressed its opinion towards the talent cultivation in computer science field from the perspective of its development. Teachers from Tsinghua University, Peking University and Shanghai Jiao Tong University had demonstrated their model courses.

(by Shuai Sun, Yanping Wang)

姚期智院士带队出席计算机学科研讨会

2013年04月15日 浏览次数: 0

通讯员 张燕413日,清华学堂计算机科学实验班首席教授姚期智院士带领4名学生代表贾志豪、李崇轩、汤达和孔令航出席由上海交大承办的2013年“基础学科拔尖学生培养试验计划”——计算机科学研讨会。计算机科学实验班项目主任徐佳和教务处相关人员参加会议。

姚期智教授介绍姚班人才培养情况

姚期智对计算机科学实验班的人才培养情况作了详细介绍,从培养目标和理念、招生和培养模式、特色课程设置、国际化师资团队和培养成果等方面,充分展示了实验班自创办以来在培养领跑拔尖创新人才方面的各项举措、培养成效和影响力。同时,姚期智对“基础学科拔尖学生培养试验计划”将对国内计算机科学领域所产生的影响和改变给予了极高的肯定和期待。在高校示范课程环节,姚期智全英文讲授了“An Expedition into Modern Cryptography”示范课程,利用30分钟时间,让所有在场的老师和学生都切身感受到了清华计算机科学试验班的授课模式和课堂氛围。

汤达同学发言(计科10

研讨会中,来自各高校的教师代表和学生代表进行交流。贾志豪、李崇轩、汤达、孔令航分别发言,就我校计算机科学实验班与MIT联合培养、特色课程体验、老师对学生的关注度、分流制度、班级学习氛围等方面,从学生的角度阐述了他们各自在姚班的学习感受和收获。

来自我校、北京大学、南京大学、浙江大学、中国科学技术大学、山东大学、武汉大学、北京航空航天大学、哈尔滨工业大学、上海交通大学近百名师生参加研讨会。各院校就参与的计算机学科“拔尖学生培养试验计划”的开展情况进行了汇报,微软亚洲研究院从行业的发展情况对计算机学科的人才培养发表了意见。我校、北京大学和上海交通大学分别进行了示范课程的演示。