The First Realization of Embedding quantum simulation in a trapped system Publis

August 05,2015 Views: 0

Prof. Kim’s ion trap group at Center of Quantum Information (CQI) of Institute for Interdisciplinary Information Sciences (IIIS) has realized the first embedding quantum simulator in the trapped ion system. The paper, which is entitled as “Time Reversal and Charge Conjugation in an Embedding Quantum Simulator”, was published on August 4th, in Nature Communications. The first author is IIIS PHD candidate Xiang Zhang, with corresponding authors Associate Prof. Kihwan Kim and Assistant Researcher Jing-ning Zhang.

Figure 1: Schematic of the embedding quantum simulator implemented in a trapped ion system. The upper and lower parts represent the original and enlarged spaces, respectively. Unphysical processes, which are forbidden by the laws of quantum mechanics, are mapped to unitary operations in the enlarged space.

Quantum simulators are devices designed to simulate the properties of ideal quantum models and would allow to study quantum systems which could not be efficiently simulated by any classical means. However, they are not yet able to perform some basic arithmetic calculations as the complex conjugate. In this sense, operations involving the complex conjugate require an anti-unitary process, which is impossible to be implemented in a quantum system. Such complex conjugate is deeply connected to the important concepts in quantum field theory that unify quantum mechanics and special relativity, i.e., discrete symmetries like charge conjugation and time reversal.

For the first time, it is performed the complex conjugation and these symmetry operations in our trapped-ion quantum system through the use of enlarged spaces and the novel concept of embedding quantum simulator. The embedding quantum simulator was proposed by Prof. Solano’s group at University of the Basque Country in Spain. Our realization can be applied to numerous quantum calculations and simulations that require access to the implementation of unphysical operations. The experiments explore a completely new direction in the field of quantum simulation, and introduce “unphysical” operations into the toolbox of quantum simulation. The embedding quantum simulator can also be used to measure physically meaningful non-observables, such as the entanglement monotones and multi-time correlation functions.

Figure 2 Time reversal and charge conjugation on the Majorana dynamics in momentum space. The evolution is governed by the Majorana equation and the symmetry operations are performed at the midpoint t = 4. a,b. Right after the time-reversal operation, the momentum as well as the velocity changes sign. c,d.  By definition, the particle and corresponding antiparticle have opposite momentum but the same velocity. As a result, right after the charge-conjugation operation, the average momentum is reversed but not the velocity.

The experiments were carried out by IIIS PhD candidates Xiang Zhang, Yang-chao Shen and Jun-hua Zhang. Besides the corresponding authors, the authors also include Assistant Prof. Man-Hong Yung from Tsinghua University, together with Dr. Jorge Casanova, Dr. Lucas Lamata, and Prof. Enrique Solano from University of the Basque Country in Spain. The research was funded by National Basic Research Program of China, the National Natural Science Foundation of China.

 

The full paper is available at: http://www.nature.com/ncomms/2015/150804/ncomms8917/full/ncomms8917.html

金奇奂研究组在《自然•通讯》发表论文

首次在离子阱系统中实现嵌入式量子模拟器

2015年08月05日 浏览次数: 0

交叉信息研究院量子信息中心的金奇奂副教授所带领的离子阱研究小组近日首次在离子阱系统中实现了嵌入式量子模拟器。研究成果《嵌入式量子模拟器中的时间反演和电荷共轭》于84日发表在《自然·通讯》期刊上。该文章的通讯作者是交叉信息研究院金奇奂副教授和张静宁助理研究员,第一作者是院在读博士研究生张翔。

1:离子阱系统中的嵌入式量子模拟器。上半部分和下半部分分别表示原始和扩展空间。 被量子力学基本原理所禁止的非物理过程在扩展空间中被映射为幺正操作。

量子模拟器是用来演示理想量子模型的属性的仪器,它使我们能够研究通过经典方式无法高效地模拟的量子系统。然而,由于量子系统不能实现反幺正过程,量子模拟器还不能实现某些基本的代数运算,比如复共轭操作。而复共轭操作与结合量子力学和相对论的量子场论有着深刻的联系,比如分立对称操作——电荷共轭和实践反演操作都包含复共轭操作。

通过引入扩展空间和被称作嵌入式量子模拟器的新概念,金奇奂研究组首次在离子阱系统中实现了复共轭和上述对称操作。嵌入式量子模拟器是由西班牙巴斯克大学的Enrique Solano教授研究组提出的。金奇奂研究组的实验实现可以被应用于大量需要“非物理”操作的量子计算和模拟中。该实验探索了量子模拟领域的全新方向,将“非物理”操作引入到量子模拟工具箱中。嵌入式量子模拟器也可以被用于测量具有物理意义的非可观测量,比如纠缠单调和多重时间纠缠等。

2:动量空间中的Majorana动力学演化过程中的时间反演和电荷共轭。该粒子的时间演化是由Majorana方程决定的,对称操作发生在演化的中点t=4  a,b. 在时间反演操作之后,Majorana粒子的动量和速度同时反号。 c,d. 从定义上说,粒子和相应的反粒子具有相反的动量,但它们的速度却是一样的。因此,在电荷共轭操作之后,只有动量反号,而Majorana粒子的速度保持不变。

该实验工作由交叉信息研究院的博士研究生张翔、沈杨超和张君华进行。除通讯作者之外,其他作者还包括清华大学的翁文康博士以及巴斯克大学的Jorge Casanova博士、Lucas Lamata博士、Enrqiue Solano教授。此项研究工作由国家重点基础研究发展计划和国家自然科学基金支持。

论文链接参见:http://www.nature.com/ncomms/2015/150804/ncomms8917/full/ncomms8917.html