China Theory Week 2016 Held

August 25,2016 Views: 0

The Tenth China Theory Week (CTW 2016) opened on August 22, 2016, at the Lecture Hall of William M W Mong. Engineering Bldg, the Chinese University of Hong Kong. This 4-day workshop attracted over 70 young scientists from many top universities across Europe, America, and Asia, such as Tsinghua University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Princeton University, University of Toronto, etc.

Prof. Seth Pettie is giving the fist keynote speech.

CTW 2016 consisted of 3 keynote speeches by Prof. Kurt Mehlhorn, vice president of the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften e.V., member of the European Academy of Sciences, foreign member of National Academy of Science and Engineering and director of the Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Prof. Seth Pettie from University of Michigan and Prof. Xi Chen from Columbia University, as well as 22 invited lectures by PhD students.

Prof. Andrej Bogdanov, as the co-chairman of organization committee and the associate director of the Institute of Theoretical Computer Science and Communications, CUHK, introduced the unique platform and academic interaction of CTW in his opening remarks. In CTW 2016, dozens of Ph. D candidates discussed hot research subjects on theoretical computer science. The topics of the 3 keynote speeches covered Optimal Compression of Graph Metrics, Testing Monotonicity, and Equilibrium Computation in the Linear Exchange Economy. Moreover, 22 professor-nominated student speakers discussed on pattern matching with regular expressions, stochastic matching problem, computing the stationary distribution and others.

Prof. Kurt Mehlhorn thought highly of CTW and commended all the excellent and impressive lectures to be the highest scholarly standard in this field. Prof. Xi Chen, another keynote speaker who graduated from Tsinghua University, regarded all the student attendees as among the best Ph.D. candidates in the field of theoretical computer science and all the subjects important and interesting.

China Theory Week is an annual workshop that has been held since 2007 under the sponsorship of Professor Andrew Chi-Chih Yao. It provides opportunity for the most accomplished Ph.D. students to meet, as well as to present and discuss their research. Aiming to promote the international academic communication and the academic reputation of China on theoretical computer science, this workshop was held at Tsinghua University in Beijing, University of Aarhus in Denmark and Shanghai Jiao Tong University. CTW 2016 was co-organized by IIIS, Tsinghua University, and ITCSC, CUHK. Prof. Andrej Bogdanov from CUHK and Prof. Ran Duan served as the co-chairmen of the organization committee.

(By Shuai Sun)

2016年理论计算机科学明日之星交流会举行

2016年08月25日 浏览次数: 0

       822日-25日,第十届理论计算机科学明日之星交流会(CTW2016)在香港中文大学蒙民伟工程学大楼报告厅举行。来自美欧亚多所一流高校的70多位青年科研人员参与交流,包括北京清华大学、美国麻省理工学院、普林斯顿大学、加拿大多伦多大学、以色列特拉维夫大学等。

   

Seth Pettie教授做首场主旨演讲

本年度理论计算机科学明日之星交流会共设3场主旨演讲和22场邀请报告。特邀主旨演讲人包括马克斯·普朗克科学促进学会副会长、欧洲科学院院士、美国科学院及工程院外籍院士、马普所计算机科学主任Kurt Mehlhorn教授、密西根大学Seth Pettie教授、以及哥伦比亚大学陈汐副教授。

大会组织委员会共同主席、香港中文大学理论计算机科学与通讯研究所副主任Andrej Bogdanov副教授在交流会开幕式上致欢迎辞,介绍了CTW交流会的独特吸引力以及今年的组织特色,期待交流会促成更多积极的学术互动。秉承过去九年一以贯之的理念,CTW2016聚集了来自全球知名高校的数十位博士研究生,共同探讨交流理论计算机科学前沿的热门课题。今年的三位主旨演讲大牛将在为期四天的交流会上围绕图指标优化压缩、布尔函数单调性测试的查询复杂度以及线性交换经济中的网络流量和平衡计算等前沿研究主题介绍各自的最新研究成果。此外,22位通过教授提名机制邀请的学生报告人也将围绕正则表达式的模式匹配、随机匹配问题、平稳分布计算等一系列问题展开交流。

交流会现场

大会重量级主旨演讲人Kurt Mehlhorn教授对于CTW交流会赞誉有加,他表示,CTW2016展示的都是演讲人最新的研究成果,报告都很精彩、令人印象深刻,很能够代表世界理论计算机科学领域的最高学术水平。毕业于清华大学的陈汐副教授也是本届交流会的主旨演讲人之一,他认为CTW交流会邀请的参会学生都是国际顶尖高校理论计算机科学领域最好的博士研究生,所讨论的问题很有意义也很有意思。

理论计算机科学明日之星交流会由姚期智院士创办于2007年,致力于促进理论计算机科学领域的国际学术交流、提高中国在该领域的学术知名度,并进一步推动国内理论计算机科学的研究进展,交流会曾先后在北京清华大学、丹麦奥胡斯大学和上海交通大学举办。本届交流会由清华大学交叉信息研究院和香港中文大学联合主办,香港中文大学Andrej Bogdanov副教授和清华大学交叉信息院段然助理教授共同担任大会组织委员会主席。