Kihwan Kim's research group from the Center for Quantum Information of Tsinghua University has set a new world record for the qubit coherence time

January 22,2021 Views: 0

Recently, Prof. Kihwan Kim's research group at the Center for Quantum Information (CQI) of Tsinghua University has made important progress in the field of quantum computing. More than one hour coherence time of a single qubit is achieved, which breaks the previous world record. The paper entitled 'Single ion qubit with estimated coherence time exceeding one hour' was recently published in Nature Communication.

Improving the coherence time of quantum systems is a major challenge of current quantum technology. As one of the most promising platforms for realizing quantum computers, ion trap systems have the advantage of long coherence time. Coherence time directly limits the maximum number of quantum operations that can be performed sequentially by quantum computers. Long coherence time is also a prerequisite for the realization of high fidelity quantum operations. In addition to quantum computation, coherence time is also of great significance to quantum communication and quantum metrology.

 

Experiment setup

Previously, the longest coherent time recorded for a single ion qubit was 660 s, which was also made in Kihwan Kim's research group. However, it was not clear what prohibited further enhancement. This work identifies and suppresses the limiting factors, which are the remaining magnetic-field fluctuations, frequency instability, and leakage of the microwave reference-oscillator. And observe a coherence time of around 5500 s. To suppresses these factors, the experimental setup is placed in a two-layer magnetic field shielding system to reduce the coupling between the ambient magnetic field noise and the qubit system. The laser and microwave signal leakage are reduced by increasing signal isolation. And the microwave frequency instability is reduced by improving the reference of the local oscillator. To further suppress the noise, the dynamic decoupling technology was adopted and the pulse parameters are optimized according to the lab's noise environment. The final quantum bit coherence time has an order of magnitude increase over the previous period. Besides, this work further analyzes and quantifies all the factors limiting the ion qubit coherence time, which lays a foundation for further improving the coherence time.

 

The measurement result of coherence time

The first author of this paper is Pengfei Wang, Ph.D. student of CQI, and the corresponding author is Prof. Kihwan Kim. Other authors include Ph.D. students of CQI: Chun-Yang Luan, Mu Qiao, and Mark Um, Junhua Zhang, assistant researcher at Southern University of Science and Technology; Ye Wang, postdoctoral fellow at Duke University; Xiao Yuan, assistant professor at Peking University; Mile Gu, professor at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore; and Jingning Zhang from Beijing Academy of Quantum Information Science. This work was supported by the National Key Research and Development Program of China under Grant Nos. 2016YFA0301900 and 2016YFA0301901, the National Natural Science Foundation of China Grant Nos. 11574002, 11974200, and 11504197.

清华大学交叉信息研究院金奇奂研究组刷新单量子比特相干时间纪录

2021年01月18日 浏览次数: 0

        近日清华大学叉信息研究院金奇奂研究组在量子计算领域取得重要进展,首次在离子阱系统中实现了超过一个小时的单量子比特相干时间,刷新了此前的纪录。该成果的研究论文(Single ion qubit with estimated coherence time exceeding one hour)于近日刊发于国际学术期刊《自然•通讯》。

       提升量子系统的相干时间一直是量子科技领域的一项挑战。作为最有潜力实现通用量子计算机的平台之一,离子阱系统优势之一就是较长的相干时间。相干时间直接限制了量子计算机可以连续进行量子操作的最大次数,同时也是实现高保真度量子操作的前提条件。除量子计算外,相干时间对量子通讯以及量子精密测量领域也都具有重大意义。

实验系统示意图

       此前,单离子量子比特的最长相干时间记录为该组实现的660秒,但是限制更长相干时间的原因依然不明确。在此基础上,这项工作明确了其限制因素主要为微波信号相位噪声,残余磁场涨落以及微波信号泄漏。该项工作将实验系统放置于双层磁屏蔽系统中减少环境磁场噪声与量子系统的耦合,通过增加激光以及微波信号隔离度减少信号泄露对系统的干扰,通过优化本地微波振荡器的参考降低微波信号相位噪声。为了进一步抑制噪声,该工作采用了动力学解耦技术,并根据噪声环境优化脉冲参数进一步降低各类噪声源影响。最终量子比特相干时间提升到了5500秒,相较于之前有一个数量级的提升。此外该工作进一步详细分析并且量化了限制离子量子比特相干时间的其它因素,为进一步提升相干时间奠定了基础。

相干时间测量结果

       该论文第一作者为交叉信息研究院博士生王鹏飞,通讯作者为金奇奂副教授,其他作者包括交叉信息研究院博士研究生栾春阳、乔木、严马可。其它合作作者有南方科技大学助理研究员张君华、杜克大学博士后汪野、北京大学助理教授袁骁、新加坡南洋理工大学教授Mile Gu、北京量子信息科学研究院张静宁。该工作得到了国家重点研发计划(项目编号2016YFA0301900、2016YFA0301901)、国家自然科学基金(项目编号11574002、11974200、11504197)的资助与支持。